Posted by: smirkdirk | March 15, 2009

WTF Is “Jet” About? Sunday Music Post


Sir Paul McCartney: He of the righteous mullet (Dude!) and the cryptic lyrics.

Having recently downloaded this song for Guitar Hero: World Tour, my thoughts once again turned to the lyrics as I pretend-played it like a thirteen-year-old.

According to posters over at SongMeaning.net

1. Jet was Paul’s dog.

2. The lyrics about the major being a lady suffragette are possibly references to David Bowie, Bowie’s appearance, and his song “Suffragette City.”

3.” Can almost remember their funny faces that time you told me that you would be marrying soon” Refers to John Lennon and Yoko Ono getting married.

4. “The wind in your hair of a thousand laces/ Climb on the back and we’ll go for a ride in the sky” Refers to John Lennon’s long hair (gross!) and Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds.

5. I don’t know if I agree with any of this.

6. My theory: It’s about the mode of transportation that will most quickly take him as far away from Heather Mills as possible.

Here’s a performance of it from 1978. Scope the Mullet!!

And here’s an MP3 of “Jet”

And Here’s an MP3 of “Are You Gonna Be My Girl” by Jet

And Here’s an MP3 of “I’ve Got a Crush on You” by The Jets

If you want an MP3 of “Bennie and the Jets” go find it yourself.

And finally, if you care more about mullets than you do about Jet, in particular, Paul McCartney’s mullet, then here’s wonderful article: Paul McCartney: Mullet Pioneer “Photos have been found showing McCartney sporting the infamous coiffure as early as 1972. Neil Aspinall, a close friend of the former Beatle, indicated that, ‘[Paul] regularly referred to his mutated mop-top as ‘the Wings of Pegasus’ which clearly was the inspiration for his band name ‘Wings.'”

Hi Honey, I like my haircut so much I'm gonna make you get it!
Hi Honey, I like my haircut so much I’m gonna make you get it

(Just for the record, Paul McCartney totally gets a bunch of shit, especially in the years during and after his one-legged wife. Despite the photographic evidence above, I totally think he and his music are cool which is why I paid $1.99 for the Guitar Hero version of the song, none of which I hopes goes to money-hungry, Heather Mills, although with a 50 million dollar settlement, it probably will.)

Here’s a song called the “Heather Mills Song” which is NOT by Paul McCartney.

Leave a Reply

Categories

