Posted by: smirkdirk | August 19, 2009

3 Games That Have Piqued My Interest

Sucker that I am, I have already “reserved” a copy of both Rock Band Beatles and Guitar Hero 5 at my local Gamestop. “Reserve” means I plunked down $5 and have a guaranteed copy. As stupid as the concept of a reservation for a video game sounds, please know that there is method to my madness. With the Rock Band Beatles reservation I have earned 3 free Beatle song downloads once they come out and with GH5, they are giving – yes, giving away – as in free – Guitar Hero: Van Halen with the reservation. (In words that Chancho Cox can easily understand, this is like a video game version of Obama’s awesome health care proposal – totally free and totally awesome!)

As far as the Guitar Hero: Van Halen thing goes – It’s pretty obvious that they don’t have a lot of faith in the game. Especially since they released the tiny detail that it includes none of the songs from the Sammy Hagar years. I know, I know, the Van Halen purists are going to say that the Roth years were superior anyway, which is true, but c’mon, no “Black and Blue”? I really wanted to play “Black and Blue”!

Anyway, on to the topic at hand. Here are three games due for release soon that have caught my eye. I have listed them in order of their apparent coolness.

#1 is “Wet” which seems to be if Tarantino and Robert Rodriguez mated and had a baby and that baby was a video game, it might be “Wet”. If I’m not mistaken, that’s even the announcer from the “Grindhouse” faux previews.

#2 is “Dante’s Inferno” – I have to admire the fact that this is even attempted. Admittedly, the way the poem is set up – the 9 circles and so on – it is ripe for video game adaptation. It also may encourage peeps who would never give The Inferno the time of day, to give it a try. (The punishment for the “flatterers is to be steeped in human shit… that’s some hardcore stuff right there – you should go read it.) However, according to those in the know the game is much more action-oriented and much less literary than one would hope. Oh well, you can’t win ’em all. But I’ll still probably give it a try out of sheer curiosity, even if it does end up with bad reviews. If they keep it up with the literary video games then I totally can’t wait for the Tess of the d’Urbervilles video game! (It sounds like I’m joking, but I actually would totally play that.)

#3: The Saboteur – I just sort of stumbled across this one and know absolutely nothing about it. Some stuff doesn’t look so good – the coloring seems kind of bland if they’re going to do the black and white motif throughout the whole thing. Even the action looks GTA rip-offy – but the setting in Paris, the Irish character complete with thick accent intrigues me.

Responses

  1. Did you realize this was coming out:

    http://www.slate.com/id/2226277/

    For some reason I consider this the defining movie of the Thumbs Up Video era even though it had absolutely no relevence to anything associated with the Thumbs Up Video era. Either that or “Oh Dad, Poor Dad, we something something something something something something, Oh Dad…”

    I posted this here because to have posted underneath the graves would have been REALLY inappropriate.

    • Oddly enough, I just read that article before I popped over here to check this stuff out. I watched that movie quite a bit back in the late 90’s and actually owned it in the VHS days. The article made me want to watch it again, although I scoped it out on Amazon and this Criterion edition looks pretty lame… Will pick it up on DVD if I happen to see it around.

      Right before I read the Slate article, I read this article, and, not to be too cold, but pics of the people in the article sure seem a lot like the characters in the movie 30 years removed from each other.

      http://www.charlotteobserver.com/topstories/story/910767.html

      As far as Thumbs Up Video – isn’t that our sorta Last Days of Video era?

      My favorite line from Last Days of Disco:

      “You know that Shakespearean admonition, “To thine own self be true”? It’s premised on the idea that “thine own self” is something pretty good, being true to which is commendable. But what if “thine own self” is not so good? What if it’s pretty bad? Would it be better, in that case, *not* to be true to thine own self?… See, that’s my situation.”


Leave a Reply

Categories

