Posted by: smirkdirk | September 11, 2009

Who Is Patrick Cassidy?

Would you like to hear a pretty song?

A few days ago I was visiting with my mother-in-law and she had Kingdom of Heaven on in the background.

No one was really paying attention to it. In fact, I myself had my back to the television when suddenly the soundtrack caught my ear. I had heard the song before in the movie Hannibal. A classical masterpiece by one of those old-school composers. I made a mental note to download it for my Ipod.

As an aside, I had recently found the 2-disc edition of Hannibal at a flea market and picked it up. Over the past couple of months I’ve watched it 2 or 3 times and wondered if I could ever confess to anyone that I actually think its a much better movie than the original Silence of the Lambs. Heresy! With multiple viewings, both the following scene, and another scene involving Bach have imprinted themselves into my mind permanently. (As well as, yes, the brain eating scene…)

Anyway, here’s how the song is used in Hannibal:

Using the IMDB, I tracked down the title of the song , “Vide Cor Meum”, expecting to see Beethoven or some such familiar name next to the composer credit. Instead, I saw the name Patrick Cassidy.

Who in the hell is Patrick Cassidy? Well, since he also had an IMDB entry I clicked on his name and learned that the guy is alive and well and in his 50’s. As a matter of fact, the trivia section informed me that this song, “Vide Cor Meum” which translates to “See My Heart”, was the only one included by a living composer in a Warner CD compilation of the most beautiful aria’s ever. And an Irishman to boot!

It just seems like I should have heard of this guy – and I guess I should have since according to Wiki it was performed at the 2002 Oscars.

Anyway, it is a beautiful song and here’s an MP3 of it for your own enjoyment. Vide Cor Meum

Mr. Cassidy also has his own website here, which has all kinds of more info about his music and movie work. He’s a pretty prolific guy!

He even totally looks the part of a hip composer dude – slightly tortured, slightly mad, and totally cool to hang out with.


Prolific!

And for those who have absolutely no interest in classical music, well, here’s a Monty Python MP3 for you: Decomposing Composers

All joking aside, considering the date the tone of the music also works as an appropriate memorial to the victims of 9/11/2001 and in that spirit I’ll post this quiet video version that requires no download.

Leave a Reply

Categories

